Fluency Workshop: Day 7

Posted on July 29, 2012

0


Sunday is a day off for everyone. I slept in and am reading Blaine Ray’s Fluency Through TPR Storytelling, which is a foundational book for the methods they’re using here.

I was hanging out with Michael Halcomb, and he made an interesting comment. He said, “When I was a kid, I went to soccer camp; now that I’m an adult, I go to Greek camp.” That really does capture the atmosphere around here. It’s a lot of work, but not unfun – the kind of fun that people have when 75% of them either have Ph.Ds or are working on them, and all of them are very focused on achievement.

Speaking of achievement, how am I doing? For the most part (~70-75% of the time), I can read the Gospel of John without metally translating in my head. While it helps that I already know the stories, I know the stories in English, which isn’t what’s popping into my head when I see the Greek words.

At about the same rate, I can understand the spoken Greek of the instructors without needing to mentally translate into English. To some extent, I can’t help translating it into English, but usually it’s after I’ve understood it. That’s a good sign.

There are always hard parts, though. An instructor will look at me and ask a question, and it sounds like nothing more than gibberish. I’ll ask him to repeat the question, and may pick out a few words, but still not get the gist of it. That’s to be expected, though – there are people of many different levels here, and those who have taught Greek for 30 years need to be challenged, too.

 

Posted in: Uncategorized