Where I am and Where I’m Going

Posted on July 21, 2012

0


This past semester, I’ve been writing for publication and preparing my application (last-second) to a Ph.D. program. Despite the hectic pace, I did manage to work through Randall Buth’s Living Koine Greek, part 1 and some of part 2-A. I was accepted to the Ph.D. program, and now, having just finished the first set of two-week summer module courses for it, am about to fly out to Fresno for the 10-day Koine Greek Instructors Fluency Workshop that Randall Buth is putting on.

My hope is that this experience will get me “over the hump” in my Greek understanding. When classes start back this fall, I’m hoping to put together a “Conversational Koine” group at the school, and my school is interested in my proposal to teach a formal course next summer. Since our school has just decided to (re-)launch the Biblical Languages major, a strong positive response to a formal summer-school course would pave the way to integrate it into the wider curriculum.

I would like to blog daily throughout the 10-day course, but I know a more reasonable goal will be short, periodic updates, with a full report at the end.

Posted in: Uncategorized